Insurances.net
insurances.net » Auto Insurance » If You Aren't Falling, You Aren't Trying
Auto Insurance Life Insurance Health Insurance Family Insurance Travel Insurance Mortgage Insurance Accident Insurance Buying Insurance Housing Insurance Personal Insurance Medical Insurance Property Insurance Pregnant Insurance Internet Insurance Mobile Insurance Pet Insurance Employee Insurance Dental Insurance Liability Insurance Baby Insurance Children Insurance Boat Insurance Cancer Insurance Insurance Quotes Others
]

If You Aren't Falling, You Aren't Trying

With snowboard season (also known as ski season for all you two-plankers) right around

the corner for us here in Colorado, I got to thinking about what it was like when I first learned how to ride and how I went from a total newbie to a pretty advanced snowboarder. In many ways, it is similar to the transition from a beginner to a successful affiliate marketer.

When I was first learning to snowboard, I was lucky enough to have a bunch of friends who had all been riding for years. On days that I hit the slopes with them, they basically dragged me along to whatever back bowl, double black diamond, or out-of-bounds tree run they felt like hitting. Needless to say, this forced me to improve my riding very quickly, end up wrapped around a tree, or going off a cliff (which actually did happen once, but that is a story for another day).

They had a saying that if you weren't falling, you weren't trying.' The basic idea was that if you spent a day on the mountain and didn't have some spectacular wipeouts then you weren't pushing yourself and trying to become a better snowboarder. The only way to improve as a rider was to consistently test your limits by trying new things on the board (steeper runs, moguls, the terrain park, deep powder, jumps, etc.). You would fall a lot, but you would also have learned something every time you picked yourself up and tried again.