Insurances.net
insurances.net » Taxes » Income Tax Mistakes to Avoid
Finance Investing Loans Personal-Finance Taxes Loan quotes
]

Income Tax Mistakes to Avoid

I try to make sure my clients are getting all of their tax forms filled out properly, as a bankruptcy lawyer I feel that is a responsibility of mine. You probably know what to expect if you're filing your tax return after bankruptcy (and even if you're not expecting a refund).You want to make sure you avoid these common mistakes regarding your income taxes, these are according to the IRS.1. Claiming the wrong filing status. Many different tax benefits are determined based on your filing status. Be sure you're using your marital status as of December 31. You could become ineligible for earned-income credit, child tax credit, and exemptions for dependents if you accidentally claim the wrong status.2. Writing down the incorrect Social Security numbers. Make sure you double-check your Social Security number, and make sure you use the right Social Security numbers for all of your dependents. The IRS' computer may not recognize that you switched your son's SSN for your daughter's, and that could cause you to lose your exemptions, credits or deductions.3. Forgetting to sign and date your return. You haven't filed your tax return if you haven't signed it. If you're filing jointly, BOTH spouses need to sign and date. This is one of the most reoccurring mistakes seen by the IRS.4. Claiming ineligible dependents, you want to make sure they qualify. You could lose your exemptions if they don't have Social Security numbers.5. Failing to report domestic workers. This is illegal, and even though some individuals do this to avoid paying taxes on their workers, it is something you want to avoid.6. Leaving out a portion of your income. Even if you don't receive a W-2 from your employer, or you worked as a 1099, these are all amounts that need to be reported.Make sure you aren't making these common errors, be sure to double ch