Insurances.net
insurances.net » Pet Insurance » How Much Should I Feed My Pet, Doc?
Auto Insurance Life Insurance Health Insurance Family Insurance Travel Insurance Mortgage Insurance Accident Insurance Buying Insurance Housing Insurance Personal Insurance Medical Insurance Property Insurance Pregnant Insurance Internet Insurance Mobile Insurance Pet Insurance Employee Insurance Dental Insurance Liability Insurance Baby Insurance Children Insurance Boat Insurance Cancer Insurance Insurance Quotes Others
]

How Much Should I Feed My Pet, Doc?

How Much Should I Feed My Pet, Doc?

As a veterinarian, before I worked in the pet insurance industry

, pet owners were constantly asking me how much they should feed their pets.

The amount of food each pet requires is dependent upon a host of variables, including breed, size, genetic predisposition, amount of exercise and type of food theyre being served. .

Pet owners may suspect their pets are a little overweight, but they often make excuses for it or fail to realize how many extra pounds (or ounces) their pets are actually carrying. Its a natural tendency to show our pets love with food, and that can quickly result in overfeeding. After the cycle of treat-giving or overfeeding begins, pets become patterned and begin to expect it. .

My Chihuahua, Torrey, will beg for her morning treat every day at the same time due to a pattern we established years ago. Your pet may guilt you into overfeeding by looking up at you with big puppy dog eyes and pretending to be famished after a meal. But remember, it is their nature to overeat when given the opportunity. In the wild, dogs and cats may not eat for several days, so their instincts tell them to fill up while they can. Understanding this can help relieve your guilt and ensure proper pet health..How Much Should I Feed My Pet, Doc?