Insurances.net
insurances.net » Others » Should I Report a Fender Bender to My Insurance Company?
Auto Insurance Life Insurance Health Insurance Family Insurance Travel Insurance Mortgage Insurance Accident Insurance Buying Insurance Housing Insurance Personal Insurance Medical Insurance Property Insurance Pregnant Insurance Internet Insurance Mobile Insurance Pet Insurance Employee Insurance Dental Insurance Liability Insurance Baby Insurance Children Insurance Boat Insurance Cancer Insurance Insurance Quotes Others
]

Should I Report a Fender Bender to My Insurance Company?

Should I Report a Fender Bender to My Insurance Company

?

Ever had a fender bender and decided not file it? It's understandable, a lot of people don't want their insurance premiums to rise. As a personal injury lawyer I see this quite a bit. Many people would rather just pay for the damages out of pocket and be done with it. If you are thinking about doing the same, consider the following things:1)How much their premiums will go up. This is something you really should be familiar with BEFORE you purchase your insurance policy, let alone file a claim. Although you may have initially been given a cheap deal most companies will hike up your premiums if you're found at fault in an accident. 2)Who was at fault? Not just who caused the crash, more than one party can be at fault in an accident. Fault can be determined several different ways. Your premiums are almost certain to rise if you are found to be at fault for an accident.Based on the above, you may think it's a good idea not to report accidents to your insurance company. Often times this can be the case if the police aren't involved, and the damage seems that it's going to be less than your deductible. If a police report is filed though, your insurance carrier is probably going to find out anyway. There are a lot of insurance policies that state the policy holder must promptly report any accident. You may not even have a choice!Another thin