Insurances.net
insurances.net » Buying Insurance » Pay No Attention To "Free Advice"
Auto Insurance Life Insurance Health Insurance Family Insurance Travel Insurance Mortgage Insurance Accident Insurance Buying Insurance Housing Insurance Personal Insurance Medical Insurance Property Insurance Pregnant Insurance Internet Insurance Mobile Insurance Pet Insurance Employee Insurance Dental Insurance Liability Insurance Baby Insurance Children Insurance Boat Insurance Cancer Insurance Insurance Quotes Others
]

Pay No Attention To "Free Advice"

It's Worth What You Pay For It

by Michael D. Hume, M.S.

Years ago, I was a professional stage actor in Colorado. What this means, of course, is that I became very good at cleaning toilets and waiting tables. I did make most of my living onstage, but with a young family to support, it was never enough. Between shows (and even during shows) I worked whatever jobs I could find.Pay No Attention To "Free Advice"

Once, hoping to improve the family's dough situation, I took a commission-only sales job. I learned to sell water conditioners, door-to-door. The job didn't last long (I landed a good role in a decent-paying show), but it gave me two things I still value today. First, the sales training they put me through was invaluable. Second, the job taught me the value of free advice: zero, usually.

Throughout my training program, everyone from my wife to my friends assured me this water conditioner sales job would never work out, and would never pay me a dime. In my first week, I sold several units, and made as much money as I'd ever made in my life, to that point. I was glad I hadn't taken the well-intended free advice of my loved ones to drop out of the job during training.