Insurances.net
insurances.net » Travel Insurance » Leisure trip to Romania
Auto Insurance Life Insurance Health Insurance Family Insurance Travel Insurance Mortgage Insurance Accident Insurance Buying Insurance Housing Insurance Personal Insurance Medical Insurance Property Insurance Pregnant Insurance Internet Insurance Mobile Insurance Pet Insurance Employee Insurance Dental Insurance Liability Insurance Baby Insurance Children Insurance Boat Insurance Cancer Insurance Insurance Quotes Others
]

Leisure trip to Romania

Leisure trip to Romania

Being a motorhome enthusiast for ten years now

, I've always dreamt of that extended trip of ten weeks or so in Romania. Being a self employed mechanic, I finally realised that I was in a position to make this dream a reality. My wife Mabel and our faithful cat Tipsy were more than willing to be travel partners on this trip of a lifetime. So after much research, planning and packing we were finally on the road to Romania. My motorhome is a five year old six berth, C Class Hymer with a Mercedes Sprinter engine and our previous longest trip was a nine night trip to Scotland, covering 1000 miles. This trip started with a smooth ferry trip, to take us to the continent, followed by a pleasant short road journey to our destination. We decided to make two overnight stops on our way there and these were mainly in aires, which suited us perfectly, as it broke up our journey. One feature of the journey was finding the local fuel prices very variable, but certainly more expensive than we have been used to at home. Our Garmin satellite navigation system was a necessary item, although traditional maps are a must on a journey of this type. In fact we used maps mostly for navigation and the sat nav to identify nearby points of interest. On arrival at our destination, our first impressions were impressive. The large, family run campsite clearly had almost all the amenities we required and was nothing like the pictures in the online brochu