Insurances.net
insurances.net » Auto Insurance » Breaking the Stereotypes of Traumatic Brain Injury
Auto Insurance Life Insurance Health Insurance Family Insurance Travel Insurance Mortgage Insurance Accident Insurance Buying Insurance Housing Insurance Personal Insurance Medical Insurance Property Insurance Pregnant Insurance Internet Insurance Mobile Insurance Pet Insurance Employee Insurance Dental Insurance Liability Insurance Baby Insurance Children Insurance Boat Insurance Cancer Insurance Insurance Quotes Others
]

Breaking the Stereotypes of Traumatic Brain Injury

It's amazing how things can change.

I have been a licensed real estate broker associate. I ran for city council in 2005. I have always been confident in myself as a man and in my own ability to pursue my dreams and succeed.Breaking the Stereotypes of Traumatic Brain Injury

On August 24, 2008, as owner and operator of my own tree service, I fell forty feet to the ground while trimming limbs from a tree. I am now learning to live with Traumatic Brain Injury, or TBI.

My life has been changed forever.

After being airlifted to University of Iowa, I lost a kidney, my spleen and part of my liver. I remained in a medically induced coma for the better part of two months, and subsequently had to learn everything from speaking to driving, over again.

It has been two years since the accident; the journey is slow. Sometimes I laugh. When I feel like crying I cannot. I find myself alternating between frustration, anger, depression and extreme anxiety. People I have known my entire life are now uncomfortable with the "new" Kenny. They all but ignore me at social functions due to changes in my speech and motor skills. My confidence has been shaken, and I have been humbled.

Like I said, it's amazing how things can change.