Insurances.net
insurances.net » Others » Where is Your Money Going
Auto Insurance Life Insurance Health Insurance Family Insurance Travel Insurance Mortgage Insurance Accident Insurance Buying Insurance Housing Insurance Personal Insurance Medical Insurance Property Insurance Pregnant Insurance Internet Insurance Mobile Insurance Pet Insurance Employee Insurance Dental Insurance Liability Insurance Baby Insurance Children Insurance Boat Insurance Cancer Insurance Insurance Quotes Others
]

Where is Your Money Going

Looking back on the day I got my first pay stub I remember myself being filled with elation and shock at the same time. It was my first job during the time I was a freshman at university and I was earning around $12 and excited at the prospect of making $480 that first week, until I saw my paycheck...

Paychecks can be very confusing, because looking at them initially they look like a lot of tables and numbers, but after a bit of careful inspection you should be able to decipher what's going on. It can initially seem incomprehensible because some companies use acronyms you may not be familiar with. This happened with my very first paycheck, it was easy to understand after a while the Feds got a chunk, the state got its chunk but there was a "FICA" taking a chunk of my paycheck and I didn't know who that waswho is FICA?

Deciphering Your Paycheck

There are two sections on a paycheck earnings and deductions. The section named earnings describes any income you've earned in the specified pay period. It shows your rate and the amount of hours you've worked during the pay period. It's a fairly straightforward section and it represents your Gross Salary.

The second section, known as your Net Pay is basically your Gross Pay intake minus any deductions. Deductions are further categorized into 2 sections: Required (statutory) and something named Other deductions.

Required or Statutory Deductions