Insurances.net
insurances.net » Wholesale Business » Strategic Thinking Is Crucial
Home Business Small Business Wholesale Business Business agency Global Economy
]

Strategic Thinking Is Crucial

Strategic Thinking Is Crucial

When I was an MBA student at Harvard Business School

, professors rewarded strategic thinking. I excelled in strategic thinking and was therefore able to do well even though I was poor in math. In each case we needed to clarify what really mattered to an executive and the company. I could do this exceptionally well by focusing on the big picture. I saw what pieces fit in where and what was needed to complete the puzzle. On tests, I would describe this big picture and then I would say, If I had time to do all the math, I would expect the numbers to come out this way. Professors saw that I had grasped the big picture and gave me good grades.

I learned from my classmates that some tried to excel via their math skills. They analyzed all the numbers to death. The problem was that they got lost in the details and time ran out before they solved the puzzle mathematically. They couldnt see the forest for the trees. They got lower grades because they used the wrong thinking approach. Harvard believed that our business success depended on thinking strategically.

How about you? Can you notice what thinking approach is called for in a given situation? When to turn on your strategic thinking? Once you know it is time to think strategically, I suggest asking yourself two questions:

1. What is the main problem or opportunity facing my company or business unit?

2. What can I envision that will resolve the problem or grasp the opportunity?

In step number 1, you must know what really matters. Keep looking for that until you find it.

In step 2, you must clarify your vision until others can understand it. Then get their input. Spread out the ownership for the vision so that more people buy into it.