Insurances.net
insurances.net » Investing » Investing Strategies - How My Own Strategies Have Evolved Over The Years
Finance Investing Loans Personal-Finance Taxes Loan quotes
]

Investing Strategies - How My Own Strategies Have Evolved Over The Years

Investing Strategies - How My Own Strategies Have Evolved Over The Years

I have been investing in stocks for several years now, and first started as soon as I had a few thousand put aside in my early 20s. Unfortunately I lost virtually all of this money in the next couple of years, but I'm glad I did because it taught me some valuable lessons and helped me to evolve as an investor.

Right at the beginning I had a very modest income coming in, so I saw stock market investing as a way of making some serious money. Therefore I automatically excluded all of the mid and large-cap stocks and looked for the next big thing amongst the tiddlers.

I figured that it was simply not worth looking for gains of say 10-15% every year, because with the amounts of money I was investing it would hardly be worth it. Instead I wanted to find stocks that could multi-bag over the next couple of years.

Lots of investors do this and some may be lucky enough to find one that really takes off. However the failure rate amongst these smaller companies is so high, and it is exceptionally difficult to find winning stocks. I unfortunately managed to lose lots of money investing in a few high risk technology companies who joined this long list of failures.

This didn't necessarily put me off, however, because as soon as I had saved up some money, I was back again. This time I put it all into a really small property company. However three years later it had still not gone anywhere so I sold it for a small loss.